NYU Computer Science News

2014-2015 Dean's Outstanding Dissertation Award

Dr. Russell Power has been awarded the 2014-2015 Dean's Outstanding Dissertation Award in the Sciences for his thesis "Building efficient distributed in-memory systems". His advisor was Jinyang Li. Congratulations!

2015 NYUAD Annual Hackathon

The fourth Annual NYUAD Hackathon for Social Good in the Arab World, organized by Professor Sana Odeh, took place April 10-12. It drew over 100 students from a dozen countries worldwide. 

For more news about the hackaton, see here.

ACM Fellow

Juliana Freire has been named a Fellow of ACM for contributions to provenance management research and technology, and computational reproducibility. Congratulations!

See the press release for more information.

ACM Distinguished Scientist

Clark Barrett has been named a 2014 Distinguished Scientist by the ACM. Congratulations!

2015 IEEE Donald G. Fink Award

Theodore Rappaport and his students have been awarded the 2015 IEEE Donald G. Fink Award for the outstanding survey, review, or tutorial paper in IEEE publications. Congratulations!

Technical Achievement Award

Claudio Silva has been awarded the 2014 Visualization Technical Achievement Award in recognition of seminal advances in geometric computing. Congratulations!

Silver Professorship

NYU has awarded a Silver Professorship to Patrick Cousot. Congratulations!

Best Paper Award

"Finding Minimum Type Error Sources" by doctoral students Zvonimir Pavlinovic and Tim King and Prof. Thomas Wies has won the Best Paper Award at OOPSLA 2014 (Object Oriented Programming, Systems, Language, and Applications). Congratulations!


David Sontag and Thomas Wies have each received an NSF CAREER award for their projects "Exact Algorithms for Learning Latent Structures" and "Abstracting Programs for Automated Debugging". Congratulations!

Profile of Yann LeCun

Yann LeCun's work on back-propagation neural networks and deep learning are the subject of an in-depth profile in Wired.


top | contact webmaster