V22.0480-005: Section 5, Spring 2006

(Final Exam: Thu 5/04, 4:00-5:50 PM, ** room moved to 809 Silver ** )

(Please note that lecture information and examples are taken from Core Servlets Web Site)

 

Date

Lectures

Readings
Part I: Foundations of the Web
Tue Jan 17
None
Thu Jan 19

HTML Quick review: HTML Intro. , Tables and Frames

Online HTML Resources:

 


Tue & Thu Jan 24 & 26
HTML Forms: PPT Slides
HTTP, CGI and Cookies: PPT Slides

Core Servlets, Chapter  19
Part II: Java Servlets
Tue Jan 31

Introduction to Java Servlets: PPT Slides



Core Servlets, Chapter 1
Thu Feb 2
Building your first Java Servlet: PPT Slides
Core Servlets, Chapter 2 (skip sections 2.5-2.6, 2.11)
Handout: Configuring and Using Apache Tomcat
Tue Feb 7
The Servlet Life Cycle: PPT Slides
Core Servlets, Chapter 3
Thu Feb 9
Servlet / Browser Communication I: PPT Slides
Core Servlets, Chapter 4 (skip sections 4.7 - 4.8), Chapter 5 (skip sections 5.4 and 5.6).
Tue Feb 14
Servlet / Browser Communication II PPT Slides (updated 2/21)
Core Servlets, Chapter 6, Chapter 7 (Skip Sections 7.4 - 7.5)
Thu Feb 16
Servlet Session I: Cookie API
Core Servlets, Chapter 8
Tue Feb 21
Servlet Session II: (PPT Slides)
Core Servlets, Chapter 9
Part III: Java Server Pages (JSP)    
Thu Feb 23

JSP, Part I (PPT Slides)

Core Servlets, Chapter 10
Tue Feb 28
JSP, Part II

Core Servlets, Chapters 11 - 13 (Skip Section 13.4)
Thu Mar 2
JSP, Page Directive (PPT Slides) (not included on midterm)

 
 
Tue Mar 7
JSP, JavaBeans with JSP (PPT Slides(not included on midterm)
Core Servlets, Chapter 14 (Skip Section 14.7)
Thu Mar 9
Midterm material include all the readings from above(chapter 1-12, and chapter 19). Please note sections eliminated from the readings listed above.
Mon- Sat
Mar 13-18
Spring Break!

Part IV: Java Database Connectivity (JDBC)
Thu Mar 23

MySQL and SQL : PPT

Core Servlets, Chapter 18 (Section 18.2).

MySQL Online Documentation: Chapter 3 Tutorial (skip sections 3.3.4.5, 3.5, 3.7 and 3,8).
Tue Mar 28
JDBC: JDBC PPT Part I: PPT I & II
Thu Mar 30
JDBC:
Tue Apr 4

PHP: PPT

- Instructions on how to setup i5.nyu.edu account for the first time
- Instructions and examples from Deena's Website (use MySQL and PhP on i5): PhP and MySQL on i5.nyu.edu
Part V: XML and Web Services
Thu Apr 6

Introduction to XML & Document Type Definitions (DTDs)

XML PPT Part , DTD PPT

XML and Java, Chapter 1 (second half)
Tue Apr 11

Introduction to XML Parsing

XML Parsing PPT


XML and Java, Chapter 5
Thu Apr 13

Simple API for XML (SAX)

SAX Part I PPT ,


XML and Java, Chapter 6 &
Appendix A, SAX API
Tue Apr 18

Thu Apr 20

JDOM:

JDOM PPT

XML and Java, Chapter 14 &
Appendix A, JDOM API
Tue Apr 25


Thu Apr 27

Last Day of Class: final exam format

XML Web Services: The Web Services Protocol Stack


XML and Java, Chapter 15

Web Services FAQ

May 5/4
FINAL EXAM: Thursday 5/04, 4:00-5:50 PM
** room moved to 809 Silver **

 


Updated Spring 06:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::: ::::::::  |